Baxter returns to Bafana because of the talent in SA

Stuart Baxter says with the wealth of talent in the country they can qualify for major tournaments.

The British tactician was officially unveiled at a press conference in Johannesburg on Monday and he discussed his plans for Bafana Bafana.

This is the 63-year-old Baxter’s second stint as Bafana coach having coached the national team between 2004 and 2005.

“I am back in this seat because I have belief – I believe that with the wealth of talent in this country we can qualify for things,” Baxter told SAFA Media.

“While I know that this position goes with a lot of criticism, I also believe that if we work together as a country and take out all the negativity we can get somewhere.

“So my appeal is, with your support this national team can be great again – criticise if you must, but support is crucial,” he added.

“This is not an easy task I am going into, but I have confidence that we will overcome.”

His first competitive match in charge of Bafana will be against Nigeria in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier in Uyo on the 10th of June 2017.

Leave a Reply

