Roscoe Pietersen signs a two-year-deal

​Ajax Cape Town have bolstered their squad ahead of the 2016/17 Premiership season with the acquisition of defender Roscoe Pietersen on a two-year-deal.

Pietersen, who had been on trial with the Urban Warriors for the last two weeks, has had a nomadic career thus far, having formerly been on the books of Old Mutual Academy, Chippa United, SuperSport United, AmaZulu and Vasco Da Gama.

The capture of the 27-year-old is somewhat needed for the Capetonians following the sale of Abbubaker Mobara to Orlando Pirates, with coach Roger De Sa citing his versatility as a major addition to the roster.

“Roscoe was marked as one of the up-and-coming youngsters to come out of Cape Town a few years ago,” De Sa told the club’s official website .

“I think he just never really found his footing up in Johannesburg. It’s nice to have him back in Cape Town, because he’s a fantastic footballer and a great kid overall.

“He’s got very good leadership qualities, he’s a great player on and off the field. He’s exactly what we need at this time. He’s sought of an older, wiser head amongst the kids and he’s a Cape Town boy, so overall I’m very pleased with the acquisition.

“He’s really going to fill a few holes for us with his versatility and I think he’ll be here at Ajax Cape Town for many years to come.”

Pietersen expressed his delight at signing for the Mother City outfit, saying: “I’ve enjoyed my time at Ajax Cape Town so far. The facilities are one of the most professional in the country. I’m enjoying the set-up here as well as my team-mates and the technical staff.

“Everyone has welcomed me to the club in a good manner. It’s an honour and a privilege to play for Ajax Cape Town, because I am from Cape Town originally so I know what a big club this is.

“It’s great to be home! I know the culture of the club and the culture of Cape Town football, so I am positive that I can make the Ajax fans proud.”

Leave a Reply

