​See why Abbubaker Mobara Joined Pirates

In an interview with Soccer Laduma, former Ajax Cape Town defender Abbubaker Mobara has revealed the real reason behind his decision to join Orlando Pirates.
The 22-year-old recently departed from his boyhood club Ajax and took the next big step in his career, and there is no doubt that the new Bucs player is happy with the decision he has made.

“I want to be a part of the Soweto Derby… the fifth biggest derby in the world… and I think it would be a big privilege for me to be a part of that. Obviously, one of the reasons I wanted to be at Orlando Pirates was because of the challenges, but most importantly because of that derby,” Mobara said.

The 2015 MTN8 winner also revealed to the Siya crew that he felt he was in a comfort zone at Ajax, and needed more challenges in his career.

“I felt that I was in a comfort zone, because I have been at Ajax Cape Town for 13 years and I know what it is like to be there. It’s one of the best development clubs I have ever been at,” the defender said.

“Hearing that a big team like Orlando Pirates was interested in me, I felt like that was my move and my chance to get out of Cape Town, not just to get out of a comfort zone, but to also bring new challenges for myself for the next five to 10 years.”

Leave a Reply

