Chipeta move to Ajax influenced by Katsande and Billiat

In a interview Defender Eric Chipeta said that his decision to join Ajax Cape Town was influenced by Billiat and Katsande’s history with the Urban Warriors.

Chipeta has spent two seans at Chippa United, is expected to join his new teammates when preseason kicks-off next month.

image

“I think the desire to grow and seek new challenges which will help me improve my game was the driving force behind my decision to sign for Ajax,” Chipeta told Goal.

“I am coming from a good club, going to another good club and I am looking forward to the new challenge that lays ahead me.

“I keep on thriving for new challenges and I believe Ajax will offer just that.
“There were other teams interested in me, even though other teams were also interested in my services but my heart told me to choose Ajax and I am looking forward to the new challenge.

“Obviously, I will be ever grateful to Chippa United, they gave me the opportunity to play and settle in South Africa.

“They helped adjust to South African football and I learnt a lot of things through them.

“I think they are also a club that has developed a lot over the years. I am truly thankful to them for all they have done for me.”

The 25-year-old Zimbabwean international also revealed that he consulted compatriots Willard Katsande and Khama Billiat before deciding to join the Roger de Sa coached outfit, he was optimistic that he will have more influence at the Cape club than the duo.

“Their [Billiat and Katsande] history with Ajax was also a huge influence because those guys played huge roles for Ajax and for me it’s just a matter of maintaining that standard and trying to surpass what thy achieved at the club by helping Ajax challenge for honours and win more trophies.

“I intend to help the team keep many clean sheets whenever I play.”

One thought on “Chipeta move to Ajax influenced by Katsande and Billiat

Leave a Reply

