Abel Mabaso impressed by Ajax youth setup

The defender had been on loan to the club from Mamelodi Sundowns and reveals that he has been impressed by how Ajax Cape Town focuses on youth development.

“To be honest with you I think my first season at Ajax was one hell of an experience,” he told Goal.

“You know it was clusted by a lot of joy and a lot of emotions too. When I got to the club, my competitor, the late Lolo [Cecil] was doing really well and my arrival also sort of spurred him to work even harder.

“We complemented each other well and the competition between us was really healthy. We went on to win the MTN-8 and that was a wholesome experience, we were all ecstatic and the next moment he was gone, just like that.
“It was something that I have never experienced and it was a season filled with lots of emotions. You’re happy one moment and the next moment you cried.

“But all in all I really enjoyed my time at the club and having been at other clubs before [Sundowns, Maritzburg United and Mpumalanga Black Aces] Ajax is completely different from all the other clubs.

“To be honest they are the only team that has like a proper youth setup. Realistically when I think about it, they have a youth teams from kids of just eight-years all the way to the senior team and they are the only club in the country that does that.

“They are one of a kind and I would really like to congratulate them and everyone who is involved in the teams’ development setup.

“That explains their pedigree and it something very unique and I am honoured to be a part of a club like that.”

The 25-year-old defender also revealed that he will be returning to the Roger de Sa coached outfit for a second season having been on a two season loan.
“I am going back to Ajax again, “he added.

“A lot of people actually didn’t know but I was initially on a two season loan with an option to be permanent. I thought that it would be best for my career like that. I don’t regret making that decision and I will be going back for the new season.

“Going into the season I would like to improve my performances, be a bit more consistent and that is obviously to play more.

“I would like to help the club challenge for more honours, we have shown that we are capable and we have the talent and quality to do that.

image

Leave a Reply

